PDA

View Full Version : Getting a guitar

STUFF
04-14-2008, 08:28 PM
Alright, I have no experience with guitars or anything musical and recently, I've had this urge to start learning how to play the guitar.

Any clues to which one I should buy that's good for starters? Probably nothing too expensive since I have a chance of breaking it or something.

Help, dawgs :D

StrunG
04-14-2008, 08:37 PM
Alright, I have no experience with guitars or anything musical and recently, I've had this urge to start learning how to play the guitar.

Any clues to which one I should buy that's good for starters? Probably nothing too expensive since I have a chance of breaking it or something.

Help, dawgs :D

It really depends on what you're going to use the guitar for. If you just want play at home, I've heard good things about the iAXE (http://www.thinkgeek.com/computing/avcards/8c43/). It's only $100 and you can plug it in to your computer as your amp. It's supposedly good for beginners.

If you want one that you can carry around and play with your friends or at school, you can probably find a pretty cheap acoustic guitar at a local shop. You should ask around though, because you can probably get a good deal off of a friend. If you're more into the electric sound, I would look into this starter kit. (http://www.zzounds.com/item--IBAIJX40) That's what I bought when I first started playing, and it was a very good deal.

Komaru
04-14-2008, 08:38 PM
I don't know much about guitars, but I do know that if you went to a highschool band director, they would know a lot. A LOT. Huge amount.

Gavel
04-14-2008, 08:40 PM
Acoustic or electric?

Deadface.
04-14-2008, 08:53 PM
I'd suggest learning on a Squier. They're pretty cheap (http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Squier-Stop-Dreaming-SE-Special-Pack-With-Squier-SP10-Amp?sku=513287) and not too bad.

New Generation
04-14-2008, 08:53 PM
I prefer Acoustic Guitars. Here are top ten acoustic guitars for beginners: