PDA

View Full Version : Website access troubleshooting



Scarecrow
02-14-2010, 01:42 AM
I am trying to access a particular website (in case it's relevant, it's facebook, but i don't think that matters), but I am unable to connect to it. Firefox attempts to load for about a minute or so, then just leaves it at a blank screen.

Here is what I've checked so far:

- network problem - no. other websites work fine
- server-side problem - no. works fine for others, also works via proxy
- temporary problem - doesn't seem to be. been having problems since yesterday
- firewall problem - no. still doesn't work with KIS disabled
- router firewall problem - no. works fine on my dad's computer, restarting it made no difference
- browser problem - no. doesn't work in firefox or IE
- HOSTS problem - no. there are only references to facebook's advertisement servers in my hosts file
- user problem - no. doesn't work on other accounts on the same computer either
- IP problem - no. resetting router made no difference
- computer problem - possible. the problem seems localized to this computer
- something awfully wrong? - 100%. i am able to access the website using its ip address, but login is impossible using this method.

also, pinging the website through CMD works fine.

seems to be something wrong with my computer specifically. what could the cause be?

Mark
02-14-2010, 01:54 AM
If you have enternet explorer try that.
I have the same problum but for stickpageforums.

I guess since firefox is still in it's testing series Certaint websites arnt compatable but for a limited time.

Or you could use the restart method
Shut the computer down
and turn it back on...

That's the best I can help you

Scarecrow
02-14-2010, 03:30 AM
i already tried all of those

Scarecrow
02-14-2010, 04:42 AM
update: resetting router made no difference.

it's almost definitely something to do with this computer

also pinging the website worked fine....

Scarecrow
02-14-2010, 05:11 AM
ANOTHER update:

it seems i can access the website using the IP given to me by pinging it ( http://69.63.181.12 ). Unfortunately I can't log in because things break when you replace the URL with an IP. for example this:

http://i49.tinypic.com/mafbf4.jpg

happens (the blue number is the base address that it is trying to access. the entire 63.181.12 should be blue. also, there should be a 69 in front of that, also blue).

2-D
02-14-2010, 07:47 AM
go into command prompt and type ipconfig /flushdns
clear cache and cookies and try again.

if that doesn't work, change your PC's DNS servers to 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220, then repeat the first 2 steps

Mark
02-14-2010, 07:56 AM
It could also vary on what resorce your using

OR
It could be the fact that facebook is down since every other website works :T

2-D
02-14-2010, 08:09 AM
facebook is obviously not down you dumbass, check it.

Mark
02-14-2010, 09:59 AM
Maybe it's the amount of tabs you have open scarecrow.

I know face book isnt down
But the same issue scarecrow has with facebook
I have that issue with stickpage.

I think it's the computer's
I dont know

Scarecrow
02-14-2010, 02:21 PM
go into command prompt and type ipconfig /flushdns
clear cache and cookies and try again.

already tried this, didn't help


if that doesn't work, change your PC's DNS servers to 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220, then repeat the first 2 steps

how would I go about doing this?

Scarecrow
02-16-2010, 09:26 PM
i found the solution

http://www.4creatingawebsite.com/cant-access-website.htm

2-D
02-17-2010, 11:58 AM
oh good