PDA

View Full Version : Games that literally don't do anything



‹berschall
02-20-2010, 06:49 PM
ENOUGH. The Sims 2 is now the fourth game in the last 7 days that install without problems, are damn cool with my system and then nothing happens when I run them. I click the shortcut or the .exe and maybe it shows a splash screen but after that, nothing happens at all. No loading, no error reports, nothing. The game just disappears without ever being there.
This is less a specific thing than a general problem, why the hell does this happen to me so frequently, why the **** does this happen at all? All drivers are updated, same as DirectX, I troubleshot all day to no avail. Halp.

Exile
02-20-2010, 07:31 PM
When you open the program does the .exe show up in the processes tab?

‹berschall
02-21-2010, 06:23 AM
Most of the time it doesn't. Sometimes it appears for just as long as the splash screen but then disappears real fast.

Exile
02-21-2010, 07:01 AM
If you have Vista try running it in XP compatibility mode, I know The Sims 2 has some issues with Vista.

Wsheerio
02-21-2010, 07:06 AM
Even though you've probably already looked at these, I've Googled it and found 3 answers that were in the majority of the links I found.

one
(http://support.ea.com/cgi-bin/ea.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_li=&p_sid=FucxL5Vj&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX 3Jvd19jbnQ9MTMwJnBfcHJvZHM9Nyw3MDAsNzAxJnBfY2F0cz0 mcF9wdj0zLjcwMSZwX2N2PSZwX3BhZ2U9MQ**&p_faqid=8610&p_iid=0&p_created=&p_prod=&p_cat=&p_cv=&p_pv=&p_prods=&p_cats=&prod_lvl1=&prod_lvl2=&prod_lvl3=&cat_lvl1=&cat_lvl2=&cat_lvl3=&p_hidden_prods=&p_search_text=&p_new_search=&p_accessibility=&p_page=&p_lva=8610&nextlink=)
two (http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20070512113151AAKtU6b)

three (http://forums.techguy.org/games/287910-common-sims-2-problems.html)

When I install a game I usually have to screw with it for hours before it starts to work, I know how frustrating it can be... I hope this helps you.

Chunky
02-21-2010, 12:52 PM
If you have Vista try running it in XP compatibility mode, I know The Sims 2 has some issues with Vista.

this is what i would suggest, being a vista user this solves a majority of my game running problems

‹berschall
02-21-2010, 02:49 PM
I'm not on a Vista, I'm on an XP.

I got it solved through a whole lot of engineering, now it suffers other problems.


**** this, I'm playing Sims 1 now.

Exile
02-21-2010, 10:10 PM
Sims 1 was the better game anyway

Brownoser
02-21-2010, 10:45 PM
when i read the thread title i immediately thought of bus driver (http://www.clockcrew.cc/talk/arcade.php?do=play&gameid=112)
but it wasn't, and i was moderately surprised.

and i would suggest running it in compatibility mode.

‹berschall
02-21-2010, 11:10 PM
Sims 1 was the better game anyway

True dat.


Also, you'd be astonished to see how many games like Bus Driver actually exist, especially German ones. There's games like "Agriculture Simulator", "Cruise Ship Simulator" and tons of "Train Simulator" selling for twenty bucks over here. Yeah, it's pretty insane.

2-D
02-22-2010, 01:22 AM
when i read the thread title i immediately thought of bus driver (http://www.clockcrew.cc/talk/arcade.php?do=play&gameid=112)

ew, are you a ****ing clock?

Zed
02-22-2010, 04:06 AM
bus driver (http://www.clockcrew.cc/talk/arcade.php?do=play&gameid=112)

You do not have permission to access this page.