PDA

View Full Version : Actionscript 2. solid objects

Tork
02-27-2010, 11:49 AM
Hi, i'm making a game.. well.. just trying something, I'm really new to actionscript,
im using actionscript 2.
now heres the problem:
i'm having a ball following the cursor, but it can move through solid objects, how do i prevent it from doing that? i have the ball following the cursor, its not moving with the arrow keys.

i use this for the ball follow cursor thingy:

onClipEvent(enterFrame) {
x=_root._xmouse
y=_root._ymouse
_x+=(x-_x)/10
_y+=(y-_y)/10
}

Scorpioxxx
02-27-2010, 12:00 PM
Check for a colision with the object then if it's (the object) y is less than mouse's but greater than the ball's, tell it the ball can't move along the y axis, else/if the y value isn't between the ball and mouse values, it can, same or the x axis and this requires you changing/editing your script.

doc
02-27-2010, 03:06 PM
Scorpio, i dont think that would work for any comlex walls, and that's probably what he's looking for. I would try something like this:

onClipEvent(enterFrame){
while(this._x<_root._xmouse-1&&!_root.wall.hitTest(this._x+radius, this._y, true)){
this._x++;
}
}

That's only for horizontal positive motion (moving from left to right). You can repeat all of this for each end of the MC (right to left, up to down, and down to up).

And the variable "radius" has to be defined as the distance from the middle of the variable to the side. So you could say:

radius=this._width/2;

And the reason I put a -1 in the first half of the while statement is just so that it doesn't flicker back and forth. I'm not honestly sure if this would happen in this case, it would depend on how you coded everything else. Try removing it and you can see.

Does this make any sense?

Scorpioxxx
02-27-2010, 05:23 PM
Scorpio, i dont think that would work for any comlex walls, and that's probably what he's looking for.